Reflection

Below you will find the content of my Reflection assignment.  I hope you enjoy!

What did you find surprising or striking as you furthered your knowledge about how people learn?

This class allowed me to experience the aspects of learning that I have never experienced before.  This is my first time taking education courses and I never knew how much learning could play a essential part in how human obtain information in the classroom setting.  I knew that everyone learned differently but the information that was obtained throughout this course allowed me to see how as I embark on my instructional design career, how I have to take into consideration that everyone is different and you have to cater to everyone and their learning needs.  The content that I feel will stick out the most to me and I enjoyed learning about was how to motivate learners during Week 8.  I felt that the information that was given allowed me to understand the importance of how we as instructors have to keep the learners motivated.  Dr. Ormrod gave of many factors that will help cater to the psychological needs of adult learners and strategies for motivating students.  These examples I feel can be used in any instructional setting and be used to help the learners.

How has this course deepened your personal learning process?

            While taking this course, Dr. Weaver allowed us to do assignments that allowed us to look at how we learn as an individual.  She challenged us to look at how we learn and how it has changed from the beginning of the course.  The theories that were learned allowed me to see how I can incorporate them into my learning process.  It has allowed me to open my mind to new avenues and to experiment with what will work best.  Being able to understand how I learn and the difference it can make will allow me to be able to understand how students learn.  In order to be a great instructor, I to build that relationship with my students and understand how they learn affect what I do and how I can teach them.

What have you learned regarding the connection between learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation?

            I learned that each subject that we learned about is connected to each although they suggest different factors.  The connection between them allows instructors to cater to their students.  Although the technology is growing and education is being more available to access, the traditional theories still play an important part in the learning process.  You cannot have one without the other.

How will your learning in this course help you as you further your career in the field of instructional design?

The course was very helpful and will allow me to experience the field of instructional design at another level.  I have a better understanding when it comes to the learning process of students and how I should make content that will help them grasp the concept of what is being presented.  Being able to learn about the learning theories and styles that can be incorporated will allow me to continue to focus on how to help learners.  This is my first time experiencing the education sector and learning how to understand the learning process but I feel as I continue through this program I will be ready to help other grow in their learning.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment