Fitting the Pieces Together

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how was your view on how you learned changed?

In week one, we identified the best strategy that we felt we learned best.  As I stated, I learn best whenever I am hands on and can get in there and do it myself.  After learning the theories, I feel that the connectivism theory best relates to how I learn as well.  The ability to have information, technology, and social environments allows you to have resources that give many avenues to learn.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preference?

I feel that I can incorporate all the theories that we have learned through this course in my learning experience.  Each theory coincides with each other and caters to everyone and the way they learn.  Also, I would incorporate each theory in how I teach others as well.  All learners do not learn or think the same way, so I would determine which one to use at the point of time.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e. as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

Technology is a huge part in my learning experience.  Just with this class alone, I use the internet for research, discussion boards with my peers, and the reading resources that we used for our assignments.  I was also introduced to how to create a blog during this class as well.  It gave me an open mind to how other forms of technology are used to help individuals learn.  Without technology, I don’t know how I would be able to function.  Technology is a piece of my learning experience in my workplace as well.  I am always dealing with computer based learning modules for our orientation classes as well as myself to help me stay up to date with policies and procedures for the organization.

Leave a Reply

